character saturday: rune boy

chane leger - knight, carver, flirt

Here he is. Chane Leger, the boy who started this whole current reboot project for the Icewind Dale Rangers. The old version used a lot of the old chunky armor, and it just wasn't doing it. So we have this version instead.

Do I think that wearing that much metal on your body/face in an environment where there's a lot of snow and ice and cold is a bad plan? Possibly. I suspect there is probably a lot of frost that forms on the chainmail in front of his face. I do like the helmet though. I just wish we had a better lantern. But the snowball is cute enough.

Also, Chane definitely has both red hair, some kind of beard, and a terrible French accent. Because the only French accent that I can do is terrible.

Anyway...

I made possibly the best chicken soup this week. Even though I forgot to get the chicken out of the freezer until lunchtime on Monday. I did the usual thing and just broke up some various leftover pasta (some various widths of spaghetti, some fettuccine) into small pieces and used that.

This week's Mini Media Reviews. I started with the mini series Leonardo. Decent, not stunning. And honestly, if this is based at all on historical accounts of da Vinci, then it seems like he might have been kind of an asshole. It's also a "murder mystery" based on completely made up stuff about a work of art that is lost to history. Also, Freddy Highmore is an executive producer on this... and also stars in it... in a role that he just seems completely miscast in. Mostly because putting Highmore in a fake beard and leather pants just looks... weird.

I followed that up with a season and a half of Alex Rider. I read all the books when I was in my early 20's, I quite enjoyed Stormbreaker (and just now remembering that that movie is 20 years old this year). This is a much more... realistic. Less James Bond and more Jason Bourne perhaps. Now, I know I've read the two books these first two seasons are based on, but as I said, not for at least 20 years, maybe closer to 25. So I don't really remember where the original plot goes. But it does feel a little bit like they're... not padding out the universe, but at the very least stretching out the available story to fit the eight 45 minute episode season. It's also slightly interesting that they chose to go to the second book for the first season and then pivoted back to the first book for the second season. So they pull some of the details of how Alex becomes a spy from the first book and bolt it onto the first season. Then fill in some of the second season with what basically amounts to Alex's PTSD. They also add in a best friend for Alex who is... honestly he's the nerdy, slightly pointless, best friend from every British show about teens. It's giving Sid from Skins.

It's not bad though.

I also finished God of War this week. I really, really enjoyed it. Sure, I already knew the ending. And in my brain I'd had some of the sequel game that I'd seen played mixed up with the first game, but I liked it a lot. So much so that I ordered the sequel from the library. And it turns out, my local library had a copy of the shelf. Bonus. Well... except that it seems like it won't load the last little bit from the disc for some reason. Bollocks.

Monday required another visit from my landlord. Because one of my taps just decided that it didn't need to turn off properly because the washer was completely shredded. Thankfully it didn't take that long for him to fix it once he got here.

Friday Night DnD... we basically did a big prolonged fight scene the whole session with a brief break in the middle. The second half of which was us fighting a large collection of goo balls that shat out little fleshy pyramids that tried to eat our faces. Good times. Thankfully we had a handy Water Elemental that literally saved our asses. It was a good session overall. Plus we levelled up. Woo.

Anyway.

Today was a fairly average supermarket adventure.

Then afterwards we took a little side trip to Big W to look at their fitted sheets. So there's that about that.

No comments: